Marathon training goes European!

So this weekend I’ve been visiting my sister Rachel in Germany. She had her fourth child at the end of July & this was the first opportunity I have had to meet her.

img_0179
The reason for the visit….my gorgeous new niece!

I planned to pack my running gear but wasn’t sure I would have time to use it given it was a flying visit.

Rachel & her family attend a German speaking church and I don’t speak a word of German, actually I speak a word as you’ll find out later but not a lot, so Rachel had planned to stay at home with me. However in the end her husband was taking part in the service so she wanted to be there, as a result we both decided that it would be a perfect opportunity for me to go for a run.

On Saturday night Rachel got a map out and suggested where I might run. Thankfully she also had a map I could take a long! Despite them having lived in the same house for over 10 years I don’t exactly know the area!!

img_0235
The trusty map!

When they left for church just before 9am it was only 3 degrees so I decided I’d wait a little while before making a move…although in all honesty I’m not sure it was that much warmer.

img_0218
Ready for the off

I headed off with my trusty map in my pocket. It came out at every possible junction just to confirm I was heading in the right direction.

As I was running a long I ‘met’ lots of other people out & about. I greeted them all with a cheery smile & ‘morgen!’ Not many acknowledged me! However Rachel said morgen is not the word I should have used in these circumstances!

As I continued along I became quite hot and so took off my running jacket. I was now running along bumping into people wearing scarves and hats whilst I was wearing a tshirt. What with that, my map and my cheery morgen, they must have all thought I was a crazy British lady!

img_0233
Looking slightly hot near the end!

Rach and I went for a walk later in the day and as someone was coming towards me she said I needed to move over to the right….I had not being doing that when I was running, so yet another mistake I made!!

Along the way there was some beautiful scenery, but also some slightly random ‘German’ things!

img_0221
Random German thing number 1! Apparently you’re meant to walk round this in the water like a stork!!
img_0223
Random German thing number 2! It’s almost like a little chapel on the edge of a field in the middle of nowhere…

I had to pass under the railway at one point and was almost doubled over!! I kept thinking if I was struggling there was no way Karen would have got under!!

img_0225
Struggling to get under the railway!

You will be pleased to know I made it back and actually would have probably been ok without the map, but nice to have the reassurance!

7.2 miles completed abroad…I’m sure that makes me a proper runner putting overseas training into my plan!! It wasn’t the quickest probably in part because I kept stopping to take photos and look at the map, but at least I did it!

Leave a Reply

